2011 Gavin Fisso Bike Review

John July 29, 2011 11

This is the 2011 Fisso Fixed Gear bike by Gavin…thanks to the dudes at Road Bike Outlet, we were able to do a little review on this bike…so let’s go ahead and get started.  First off, the packaging of the bike was really awesome…very well protected and packed…Doggy really liked this box and ripping up as much  cardboard and plastic wrap as possible…highlight of his day, for sure.

don’t mind that box back there…my place is clean.

After a little bit of greasing, turning, adjusting and pumping this is what all that stuff turned into, the 2011 Gavin Fisso…a really stylish and sophisticated looking bike.  The classic brown bullhorn handlebars and saddle is really what sets the bike apart and make it stand out to me…it gives it an expensive look, but the price is definitely in the right area at $349 with free shipping.  The Gavin Fisso also comes with a rear as well as front wheel brake…I hooked up the front brake and plan on removing the rear brake…i like it simple…one brake will do.  They also give you the option to switch back to a single speed freewheel as they threw in a sunlite freewheel in the toolbox…so you always have that option.

Anyways, after snapping some pictures I took it for a spin around the hood…it is very hot in the Carolinas at the moment so this was a short lived ride (the pool has been calling my name all week).  I could tell this was a good bike though…as soon I took off it was a nice and smooth ride (make sure to take the time to properly assemble your bike, AND adjust it…very important if you want to enjoy how the bike works).  The bike gets goin pretty fast and stays solid…believe me, this bike is going to get some definite action and wear this weekend…I will have more to report on next week.

This 2011 Fisso comes in blue, grey and flat silver…very nice…definitely give this bike a check out…peep the specs below and check out Road Bike Outlet for more information on the Fisso.

 

11 Comments »

  1. Columbus Pharmacy January 19, 2012 at 9:05 pm -

    Just bought this bike. Waiting for delivery on Monday. Was it difficult to assemble?

  2. John January 22, 2012 at 4:07 pm -

    not at all…here is a video tutorial on how to do it just in case.

  3. Ricardo February 27, 2012 at 12:59 pm -

    Hi i really want to buy this bike but every where i look they don’t have a 58cmI also want to know if the logos are decals or are they painted on. Do you know if RBO will put more 58cm flat grey gavins fisso in stock?

  4. John March 5, 2012 at 5:25 pm -

    hello, i do not have the info as to when RBO will restock the 58cm fisso, however, I can tell you the decals are painted on!

  5. Tom April 25, 2012 at 9:36 am -

    Hi,

    I am considering getting the Gavin Fisso; how do you like this bike 9 months in? Any complaints?

  6. John April 25, 2012 at 4:55 pm -

    the fisso is still going strong…no complaints really…the bike could be lighter, but has not presented any problems thus far…is this gonna be your first fixed?

  7. Heardman April 28, 2012 at 7:02 pm -

    Hey I was looking into purchasing a Fisso was wondering if you could tell me the difference in quality from say a “no logo” bicycle such as this
    http://www.fixedgearfrenzy.com/no-logo-green-orange-single-speed-fixed-gear-track-bike
    or if you have any ideas as to which is the best to buy? cheers.

  8. John April 28, 2012 at 8:17 pm -

    the fisso is an excellent first bike to get…but so is the “no logo” bicycle. Both of these bikes are excellent inexpensive fixed gear bikes…they both have everything you need…brakes, a flip flop hub, decent components…the one thing I notice about the no logo is that they offer a 12 month warranty which is pretty tight. The overall quality of the Fisso is going to be a bit better than the no logo but nothing really noticeable, nothing thats really going to make you feel better about spending the extra money…Both bikes are still on the lower end so i would probably just save the extra money and go with the least expensive. Whichever bike you get, you will probably want to someday upgrade certain parts anyway so you can always do that too.

  9. Luis May 10, 2012 at 1:20 am -

    Not bad bike but the tires are (pardon my French ) are shit! Had a nice 800 yard ride and then my back tire was flat. Looked through it and it had two holes. I mean it’s cheap compared to a real nice fixie like a biachi pista so you shouldnt be surprised. But still some better tires and tubes are not that expensive and should have been included.

  10. Brian June 11, 2012 at 7:09 pm -

    Hey John, nice review. Just checking in to see how the bike is holding up after some miles. How does the Gavin Fisso par up with the likes of the Windsor Hour and Motobecane Track. I’m torn between the three for my next bike…. Thanks.

  11. John June 26, 2012 at 5:24 pm -

    Hey Brian, thanks! The Fisso is still holding strong! The Windsor Hour was actually the first fixed gear bike I ever got and I would compare it very well with the Fisso, they are both great budget bikes! My Windosr is sitting in the garage and my friends will occasionally still ride it from time to time, and it is still strong as a rock, definitely one of my favorites (even if it was my first, hah). I don’t have any experience riding the Motobecane Track but it definitely seems like a lighter bike, but might hit you a little harder in the wallet. When it comes down to it, the fisso and the hour are very similar in quality and what you get…both are on the less expensive side and offer everything you need in a bike. You’re going to get a good bike whichever route you take, but personally I will always have a place in my heart for the Windsor Hour.

Leave A Response »